NFPA to host joint informational webinar on September 8 with Saudi Arabia HCIS

August 26, 2021The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) in collaboration with the Saudi Arabian High Commission for Industrial Security (HCIS) will host a one-hour HCIS Licensing Requirements Informational Session webinar on Wednesday, September 8, 2021 at 7:00 a.m. (EDT). All fire protection contractors and consultants falling under the jurisdiction of HCIS license renewal requirements are encouraged to attend. Register for the HCIS Licensing Requirements Informational Session webinar today.

HCIS was established by the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA) to set policies overseeing areas of security, safety, and fire protection for the industrial sectors. As of August 2021, NFPA trainings and certifications are now required by HCIS for fire protection contractors and consultants seeking license renewals. HCIS provides strategic supervision and is the approval body for all projects across the 12 industries that fall under its jurisdiction (petroleum, electricity, petrochemicals, water, industrial services, communications, mining, gas, civil explosives, chemical manufacturing, metal manufacturing, and port sectors).

NFPA offers online learning to help people prepare for their required certifications but online learning completions are not accepted as compliance for the following HCIS training requirements. The required HCIS in-person trainings include:

  1. NFPA 13, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems
  2. NFPA 20, Standard for the Installation of Stationary Pumps for Fire Protection
  3. NFPA 25, Standard for the Inspection, Testing, and Maintenance of Water-Based Fire Protection Systems
  4. NFPA 30, Flammable and Combustible Liquids Code
  5. NFPA 58, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Code
  6. NFPA 70®, National Electrical Code®
  7. NFPA 70E®, Standard for Electrical Safety in the Workplace®
  8. NFPA 72®, National Fire Alarm and Signaling Code®
  9. NFPA 101®, Life Safety Code®

HCIS required certifications include:

  1. Certified Fire Inspector I (CFI-I)
  2. Certified Fire Inspector II (CFI-II)
  3. Certified Fire Plan Examiner (CFPE)
  4. Certified Fire Protection Specialist (CFPS)
  5. Certified Hazard Recognition Specialist (CHRS)
  6. Certified Life Safety Specialist (CLSS)
  7. Certified Fire Alarm ITM Specialist (CFAITMS)
  8. Certified Water-Based Systems Professional (CWBSP)

During the webinar a panel of global industry experts will provide in depth information and discuss the collaboration between NFPA and HCIS in fulfilling HCIS Licensing Requirements. Panel participants include:

  • Falah Sultan Abuthnain HCIS 1st Lieutenant
  • Abdulsalam Fahad Alghamdi HCIS 1st Lieutenant
  • Khaled Mohammed Alshamrani HCIS 1st Lieutenant
  • Anas A. Alzaid – Middle East and Northern Africa Director for NFPA
  • Jonathan Hart – NFPA Technical Lead
  • Bartholomew Jae – NFPA Director of Education and Development

“NFPA and HCIS are adamant about raising the fire protection design and implementation quality in Saudi Arabia’s industrial sectors. This will be done through ensuring engineering offices and contractors’ staff are versatile in fire prevention codes and standards. By mandating NFPA codes and standards trainings and certifications, HCIS can proactively protect Saudi Arabia’s industrial infrastructure. Our objective during the informational webinar is to help those working in engineering and contracting to understand the process of training, certifications, and eventually licensing to meet HCIS expectations,” Alzaid said.

The following topics will be addressed during the webinar with time allotted for questions and answers:

  • Costly mistakes inspired HCIS requirements
  • Importance of consulting and contracting compliance
  • NFPA training that fulfill requirements
  • NFPA certification that fulfill requirements
  • Subject matter technical expertise
  • Courses currently being conducted across KSA

Register for the HCIS Licensing Requirements Informational Session today. NFPA also offers valuable resources that pertain to fire, electrical, building, and life safety.

For this release and other announcements about NFPA initiatives, research, and resources, please visit the NFPA press room.

NFPA®: 125 Years of Protecting People and Property

The National Fire Protection Association® (NFPA®) is a global self-funded nonprofit organization devoted to eliminating death, injury, property, and economic loss due to fire, electrical, and related hazards. The association began its work to solve the fire problem in a young, industrialized nation in 1896 and is recognized around the globe as a leader in advocating for safety. NFPA delivers information and knowledge through more than 325 consensus codes and standards, research, training, education, outreach, and advocacy; and by partnering with others who share an interest in furthering the NFPA mission. In celebration of its 125th Anniversary, NFPA will be hosting a Conference Series and other initiatives that reflect the steadfast commitment to advancing fire and life safety by the association for the next 125 years and beyond. For more information or to view NFPA codes and standards for free, visit

Contact:Lorraine Carli, Public Affairs Office: +1 617 984-7275