Open navigation

NFPA Board of Directors

NFPA board members are chosen from various disciplines and backgrounds and are elected based on experience in business, finance, or administration; respect of peers; respect as a member of the safety community; commitment to the Association's goals; and appreciation for the relationship NFPA must maintain with the changing needs of society.




Amy R. Acton, Executive Director, The Phoenix Society for Burn Survivors, Inc., Grand Rapids, Michigan

First Vice Chair

Russell B. Leavitt, Executive Chairman, Telgian Corporation, Tempe, Arizona

Second Vice Chair

R. David Paulison, Owner/Consultant, Global Emergency Solutions, Davie, Florida


John D. Bonney, Owner/Consultant, Alendi Consulting Ltd., Ropley, United Kingdom

Assistant Secretary

Donald R. Cook, Chief Electrical Inspector, Shelby County Department of Development Services, Pelham, Alabama

Assistant Secretary

Kwame Cooper, Assistant Chief (retired), Los Angeles Fire Department, Los Angeles, California 


Roger W. MontembeaultOwner/Consultant, The Montembeault Group, Inc., Tampa, Florida

Assistant Treasurer

Michael Wallace, Former Executive Director, UTC Climate, Controls & Security, Juniper, Florida 

Immediate Past Chair

Keith E. Williams, President and CEO (retired), Underwriter Laboratories Inc., Northbrook, Illinois

Jim Pauley, NFPA, Quincy, Massachusetts


Term expires 2022
  • Hatem Kheir (deceased in office 7/27/21), Owner/General Manager, Kheir Group, Cairo, Egypt

  • Teresa L. Deloach Reed, Oakland Fire Department (retired), Oakland, California

  • Stacy N. Welch, Vice President, Fire Protection & Life Safety, Marriott International, Bethesda, Maryland

  • Patrick J. Morrison, Assistant to the General President for Occupational Health, Safety and Medicine, International Association of Fire Fighters, Washington, D.C.

Term expires 2023
  • Dr. Denis Onieal, Former US Deputy Fire Administrator, US Fire Administration,Gettysburg, PA
Term expires 2024
  • Raj Arora, Chief Executive Officer, Jensen Hughes, Baltimore, Maryland
  • Brion Callori, Senior Vice President of Engineering and Research, FM Global, Johnston, Rhode Island
  • Reginald D. Freeman, Fire Chief, City of Oakland, Oakland, California
  • William J. Fries, Supervising Fire Protection Engineer; Pentagon Fire Marshal; Deputy Director of the Standards and Compliance Division, Department of Defense, Washington, D.C.
  • Louis Paulson, Former California Professional Firefighters President, Walnut Creek, California

Association officers

  • Assistant Secretary: Sally Everett, NFPA, Quincy, Massachusetts
  • Staff Officer: Paul DeFronzo, NFPA, Quincy, Massachusetts
  • Stacy N. Welch
    Senior Director, Fire Protection and Life Safety, Marriott International
  • Stacy N. Welch
    Senior Director, Fire Protection and Life Safety, Marriott International
In This Section